The Orthodox Church

We Orthodox Christians hold that our Church is the one founded by Jesus Christ and his apostles at Pentecost in AD 33. Although people commonly refer to it as the Eastern Orthodox Church, Greek Orthodox Church, Russian Orthodox Church, Orthodox Christian Church, and a number of other titles, we usually just call it “the Church.”

Our bishops trace unbroken succession to the original Apostles, anchoring them in history, both inside and outside of time, to Christ’s consecration of the Apostles.

In Orthodoxy, all the bishops, no matter their titles, are equal in their sacramental office. There is no equivalent to the Roman Catholic papacy within the Orthodox Churches.

The faith we hold is that which was handed by Christ to the Apostles. Our fight against the impulse to add to or subtract from that faith sometimes puts us at odds with what seems to be the flow of history.

In the face of various heresies throughout history, the Church has made dogmatic pronouncements (especially at ecumenical councils) answering the questions that those heresies posed about what has always been believed by the Church.

Our primary statement of faith is the Nicene-Constantinopolitan Creed.

Liberally adapted from the Orthodox Wiki.